2005 V8 Supercar Championship final decider round – Ford rules

Stone Brothers Racing’s Russell Ingall claimed his first V8 Supercar crown at the BigPond Grand Finale at Phillip Island Raceway in Victoria today. In his 10th year of V8 Supercar competition, Ingall finished fifth in the two final heats of the final round in his Caltex Falcon to collect his maiden crown ahead of fellow Ford driver Craig Lowndes.

Ingall’s SBR team-mate Marcos Ambrose finished his V8 Supercar career in style and gave Ford the V8 Supercar manufacturers’ title when he won the round with wins in both of today’s 32-lap races.

Ambrose, who won the last two V8 Supercar Championships, finished third in this year’s title chase in his Pirtek Falcon and now heads to the US to chase a career in the NASCAR series.

Ingall’s victory was the third consecutive championship victory for the Stone Brothers Racing outfit.

Stone Brothers Racing (SBR) is one of the premier teams in Australian V8 Supercar Championship Series and is owned and run by Kiwi brothers Jimmy Ross Stone.

Note that the top three cars are Fords. Ford clearly thrashed all the holdens this year, the commodores looking like the taxis that they are.

Position Driver Car
1 Russell Ingall Ford BA Falcon
2 Craig Lowndes Ford BA Falcon
3 Marcos Ambrose Ford BA Falcon
4 Todd Kelly Holden VZ Commodore
5 Mark Skaife Holden VZ Commodore
6 Garth Tander Holden VZ Commodore

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s